Neurorobotics Research Laboratory

Robots

Over the years we have developed many robots, each dedicated to quite different scientific questions. Despite the diversity (or perhaps just because of the diversity), some key concepts have emerged, which we regard as essential, and which we combined without compromise in our latest humanoid robot Myon.

Myon

Myon

The modular robot Myon was completely conceived, developed and built within the context of the European project ALEAR. Myon consists of five identical humanoid robots. Through intensive collaboration with Frackenpohl Poulheim and Bayer MaterialScience, Myon and its four congeners could be furnished with an exterior skin which allows both rational (fall protection, grip surfaces) and emotional (acceptance, reducing fears) functions to be fulfilled.

(further details)

Semni

Semni

Egyptian Semni literally means to establish oneself - and this is precisely the goal of the self-exploring multi-neural individual. Semni palpates itself and its environment in a careful manner and to discover what motor actions are effective and which ones cost an enormous amount of energy. With time, Semni tries increasingly acrobatic movements. He learns to have fun with his own body control.

A-Series

A-Series

The A-series, consisting of five robots, is based on the modular system Bioloid of the company Robotis that has been extended by specially developed AccelBoards, which are able to process sensorimotor processing data in a distributed manner. The AccelBoards are attached to the robot at various body extremities, so that the different body regions can be detected by sensors.

Oktavio

Oktavio

The walking machine Oktavio consists of a body and eight legs of identical design, which are attached by snap closure at the trunk. Jointly developed and built by Dr. Manfred Hild and Torsten Siedel, the robot is 150cm long, 100cm wide and 30cm high. Oktavio was the first distributed system that works without a central processing unit. Essential concepts of Oktavio are used in advanced form for Myon.

Do:Little

Do:Little

Because of its ability for acoustic communication, the Do:Little received its name in line with Eliza Doolittle from Shaw's Pygmalion. The Do:Little governs not only the directional hearing - he also possesses unusual gustatory and proprioceptive sensors. Using bronze coloured spring contacts at the front and silver contact strips around the body, several Do:Littles can help out each other with energy and also recognize this.

TED

TED

The acronym TED stands for Two-degrees-of-freedom Experimental Device and refers to a robot held minimal in all respects which is however still able to move on legs. TED was created primarily as a demonstration and experimenting object. It only takes a few pieces and an afternoon to assemble a TED on your own, to bend individual leg shapes and install your self-created neural network.

Universal Gripper

Universalgreifer

Modeled after his own hand, the universal gripper was developed by Torsten Siedel and was enhanced by Dr. Manfred Hild with electronics and neural control. It is controlled intuitively with a specially made data glove via haptic feedback: you can feel it with your own hand if the universal gripper grasps and holds something.

Copyright © 2016 Neurorobotics Research Laboratory | Disclaimer

Neurorobotics Research Laboratory

Roboter

Über die Jahre sind viele Roboter entstanden, die jeweils ganz unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen gewidmet wurden. Trotz der Vielfalt (oder vielleicht sogar gerade durch die Vielfalt) haben sich einige zentrale Konzepte herauskristallisiert, die wir als essentiell betrachten und die wir kompromisslos in unserem aktuellsten humanoiden Roboter Myon vereint haben.

Myon

Myon

Im Rahmen des europäischen Projekts ALEAR wurde der modulare Roboter Myon unter dem Entwicklungsnahmen M-Serie vollständig in unserem Labor konzipiert, entwickelt und gebaut. Myon besteht aus fünf gleichartigen humanoiden Robotern. Durch die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Frackenpohl Poulheim und Bayer MaterialSciene konnten Myon und seine vier Artverwandten eine Außenhaut erhalten, die sowohl rationale (Sturzschutz, Griff-Flächen) als auch emotionale (Akzeptanz, Abbau von Ängsten) Funktionen erfüllt.

(weitere Details)

Semni

Semni

Auf ägyptisch bedeutet Semni wörtlich sich etablieren – und genau das ist das Ziel des Selbst-Explorierenden Multi-Neuronalen Individuums (Self-Exploring Multi-Neural Individual). Semni ertastet auf behutsame Weise sich selbst und seine Umwelt, findet heraus welche motorischen Aktionen effizient sind und welche unerhört viel Energie kosten. Mit der Zeit probiert Semni zunehmend akrobatischere Bewegungen aus, er hat Lust auf eigene Körperbeherrschung.

A-Serie

A-Serie

Die aus fünf Robotern bestehende A-Serie basiert auf dem Baukastensystem Bioloid der Firma Robotis und wurde um speziell entwickelte AccelBoards erweitert, die auf verteilte Weise sensomotorische Daten verarbeiten können. Die AccelBoards sind an verschiedenen Körperextremitäten des Roboters befestigt, so dass die unterschiedlichen Körperregionen sensorisch erfasst werden können.

Oktavio

Oktavio

Die Laufmaschine Oktavio besteht aus einem Rumpf und acht identisch aufgebauten Beinen, die per Schnappverschluss am Rumpf befestigt werden. Der von Dr. Manfred Hild und Torsten Siedel gemeinsam entwickelte und gebaute Roboter ist 150cm lang, 100cm breit und 30cm hoch. Mit Oktavio entstand das erste verteilte System, das ohne zentrale Recheneinheit auskommt. Wesentliche Konzepte von Oktavio kommen in weiterentwickelter Form beim Myon zum Einsatz.

Do:Little

Do:Little

Wegen seiner akustischen Kommunikationsfähigkeit erhielt der Do:Little seinen Namen in Anlehnung an Eliza Doolittle aus Shaws Pygmalion. Der Do:Little beherrscht nicht nur das Richtungshören – er besitzt darüber hinaus auch ungewöhnliche gustatorische und propriozeptive Sensoren. Über bronzefarbene Federkontakte an der Vorderseite und silberfarbene Kontaktbahnen rund um den Körper können mehrere Do:Littles sich mit Energie aushelfen und dies auch wahrnehmen.

TED

TED

Das Akronym TED steht für Two-degrees-of-freedom Experimental Device (Experimentalaufbau mit zwei Freiheitsgraden) und bezeichnet einen in jeder Hinsicht minimal gehaltenen Roboter, der sich dennoch auf Beinen zielgerichtet fortbewegen kann. TED entstand primär als Anschauungs- und Experimentalobjekt. Man benötigt nur wenige Einzelteile, um an einem Nachmittag selbst einen TED zusammenzubauen, individuelle Beinformen zu biegen und sein selbst kreiertes neuronales Netz aufzuspielen.

Universalgreifer

Universalgreifer

Der von Torsten Siedel nach dem Vorbild seiner eigenen Hand entwickelte und von Dr. Manfred Hild um Elektronik und neuronale Steuerung erweiterte Universalgreifer ist intuitiv mit einem speziell angefertigten Datenhandschuh steuerbar und verfügt über ein haptische Rückkopplung: man spürt es mit der eigenen Hand, wenn der Universalgreifer etwas ertastet und festhält.

Copyright © 2015 Neurorobotics Research Laboratory | Disclaimer