Neurorobotics Research Laboratory

From Body to Intelligence

The Neurorobotics Research Laboratory (NRL) is located at the Beuth-Hochschule für Technik Berlin. We develop and research morphologies and distributed neural systems for autonomous robots. We are interested specifically in adaptive and robust behaviors. Adaptive here means that the behaviour can adapt to the environment and to the body of the robot. Therefore, it is essential that robots are allowed to move freely within a real Environment (which in technical jargon is called Embodiment and situatedness).

The investigated morphologies and controllers are developed in analogy to the nervous system of humans and animals, i.e. the sensorimotor control loops are intended to mimic the structure and dynamics of a brain to a certain abstraction level.

Myon – A humanoid Robot for Research

Myon Robot

With our newly developed Myon we present the world's first humanoid robot whose body parts can completely be removed during the operation and flange-mounted again. All body parts retain their separate functionality because they are autonomous in three ways: energy supply, computational ability, and the neural network itself are completely distributed over the decentralized robot.

This has many advantages for research, for example behaviors such as walking can first be developed on an isolated limb (single leg) and can then be continued bit by bit and turned into a complete behavior. In addition, completely new issues arise - what happens if two robots exchange their arms or a robot receives a new, untrained leg?

Successful Cooperation

Myon system is a system with a very high degree of complexity. Even though, his behavior does not completely collapse when being harmed (for example, if a cable is cut or parts of the electronics are removed). The limbs are multi-crosslinked and work together cooperatively. Not only Myon, but the whole team of the laboratory is following this principle. In addition, as far as the appearance of Myon concerns, intensively worked together with Frackenpohl Poulheim and Bayer MaterialScience.

Experience Myon live

In 2012 Myon was shown between March 16th and 18th at the robot festival at Phaeno in Wolfsburg. On April 3rd BBC broadcasted an episode from their show Horizon, in which Myon is shown doing language experiments. (The Hunt for AI; Trailer). At the end of August, Myon could be seen at the European Conference on Artificial Intelligence in Montpellier in France.

Myon was shown live in 2011 on the International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence IJCAI in Barcelona from July 16th through July 22nd 2011, at the European Conference on Artificial Life ECAL in Paris from August 8th through August 12th 2011, at the Conference on Artificial Intelligence KI2011 from October 4th through October 7th 2011 in Berlin and at the Google Developer Day on November 19th in Berlin.

Myon was shown for the first time from June 9th through June 13th 2010 on the International Design Festival DMY in Berlin. On 14 July, Myon was presented at the Advanced Study in Berlin to all those that are interested in technical details and was shown from October 27th 2010 though November 3rd 2010 at the plastics trade fair K 2010.

Any time, you can find pictures and some information on our website and on the websites of the above-mentioned partners.

Copyright © 2014 Neurorobotics Research Laboratory | Disclaimer

Neurorobotics Research Laboratory

Vom Körper zur Intelligenz

Das Forschungslabor Neurorobotik (NRL) ist Teil des Fachbereichs VII der Beuth-Hochschule für Technik Berlin. Hier entwickeln und erforschen wir Morphologien und verteilte neuronale Regelungen für autonome Roboter. Wir sind speziell an adaptiven und robusten Verhaltens­weisen interessiert. Adaptiv bedeutet hierbei, dass das Verhalten sich an den Körper des Roboters und Umwelt­gegeben­heiten anpassen kann. Daher ist es wesentlich, dass die Roboter sich innerhalb der realen Umwelt frei bewegen können (was im Fachjargon als Embodiment und Situatedness bezeichnet wird).

Die untersuchten Morphologien und Regelungen werden in Analogie zum menschlichen und tierischen Nervensystem gesehen, das heißt die sensomotorischen Regelkreise sollen in einer gewissen Abstraktionsebene die Strukturen und Neurodynamiken eines Gehirns nachbilden.

Myon – Ein humanoider Roboter für die Forschung

Myon-Roboter

Mit dem von uns entwickelten Myon stellen wir den weltweit ersten humanoiden Roboter vor, dessen Körperteile während des Betriebes vollständig abgenommen und wieder angeflanscht werden können. Dabei behalten alle Körperteile ihre Funktion bei, denn diese sind in dreifacher Hinsicht autonom: Energieversorgung, Rechenleistung sowie das neuronale Netz selbst sind vollständig dezentral über den Roboter verteilt!

Dies hat viele Vorteile für die Forschung, zum Beispiel können Verhaltensweisen (wie Gehen) zunächst an einer isolierten Gliedmaße (einzelnes Bein) entwickelt werden und dann Stück um Stück zu einem Gesamtverhalten weitergeführt werden. Darüber hinaus tun sich völlig neue Fragestellungen auf – was passiert, wenn zwei Roboter ihre Arme tauschen oder ein Roboter ein neues, noch ungeübtes Bein erhält?

Erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit

Myon ist ein System mit sehr hohem Komplexitätsgrad. Trotzdem bricht sein Verhalten nicht vollständig in sich zusammen, wenn ihm Schaden zugefügt wird (beispielsweise wenn Kabel durchgezwickt oder Teile der Elektronik entfernt werden). Die Gliedmaßen sind mehrfach vernetzt und arbeiten kooperativ zusammen. Nach diesem Prinzip arbeitet nicht nur Myon, sondern auch das ganze Team des Forschungslabors. Darüber hinaus haben wir, was das äußere Erscheinungsbild von Myon angeht, intensiv mit Frackenpohl Poulheim und Bayer MaterialScience zusammengearbeitet.

Myon live erleben

Im Jahr 2012 war Myon vom 16. bis 18. März auf dem Roboterfestival im Phaeno in Wolfsburg zu sehen. Am 3. April strahlte die BBC einen Beitrag in der Reihe Horizon aus, in dem Myon bei Sprachexperimenten zu sehen ist (The Hunt for AI; Trailer). Ende August kann man Myon auf der European Conference on Artificial Intelligence in Montpellier in Frankreich sehen.

Myon wurde im Jahr 2011 live auf der International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence IJCAI in Barcelona vom 16. bis 22. Juli 2011 und auf der European Conference on Artificial Life ECAL in Paris vom 8. bis 12. August 2011, auf der Conference on Artificial Intelligence KI2011 vom 4. bis 7. Oktober 2011 in Berlin und auf dem Google Developer Day am 19. November in Berlin vorgestellt.

Myon war erstmalig vom 9. bis 13. Juni 2010 live auf dem Internationalen Design Festival DMY in Berlin zu sehen. Am 14. Juli wurde Myon im Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin all denen präsentiert, die an technischen Details interessiert sind und war vom 27. Oktober 2010 bis 3. November 2010 auf der Kunststoffmesse K 2010.

Jederzeit findet man Bilder und einige Informationen auf unseren Seiten sowie auf denen der oben genannten Partner.

Copyright © 2014 Neurorobotics Research Laboratory | Disclaimer