Neurorobotics Research Laboratory

Team

The team led by Prof. Dr. Manfred Hild consists of ten employees. As part of studies and theses, the team is accompanied by additional freelancers. Every monday the conjoint Jour fixe takes place, where daily work is coordinated. Specially organized workshops serve as further education and focused content exchange.

Prof. Dr. Manfred Hild

Prof. Dr. Manfred Hild

Manfred studied mathematics and psychology at the Universität Konstanz, Germany, and got his doctoral degree at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Since 2014 he is professor for Digital Systems at the Beuth University of Applied Sciences Berlin.

His scientific interests lie in the following fields: dynamics of recurrent neural networks, humanoids robotics with a special focus on sensorimotor and audio-visual processing, unsupervised learning paradigms for autonomous self-exploration, and parallel distributed systems.

As leader of the Neurorobotics Research Laboratory, he is supervising the design of bionic constructions, electronic circuits, and computational architectures. Further fields of interest are computer music, digital signal processing, and applications of FPGAs.

Stefan Bethge

Stefan Bethge

Stefan studied computer science and musicology since 2005 at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and has joined the team in late 2010.

His work supports the exploration of reactive systems and their resulting dynamic motion. He is particularly interested in the application of biological principles to technical systems.

In his free time, Stefan is on the road with his band, attending concerts and likes to ride his bike.

Peter Hirschfeld

Peter Hirschfeld

Peter studies computer science at the Freie Universität Berlin and is now in his last stage of his M.Sc programm. He is a trained assistant in automatization- and computer technology and passed his Bachelor at the Fachhochschule Brandenburg.

His work includes designing and solder electronical circuits and the electronical maintenance of the robot Myon. In Addition, he helps Myon to learn new moving pattern.

In his spare time, Peter volunters as a lifeguard at the German Lifeguard Association (DLRG), likes to go hiking and has a big interest in survival skills.

Marcus Janz

Marcus Janz

Marcus studies computer science at the Freie Universität Berlin since 2008. After his Bachelor's degree in 2011, he now focuses on artificial intelligence in his graduate studies towards a Master's degree.

While working with the team, he researches and implements learning methods for self-exploration and detection of situations. Additionally, he works on computer vision methods to enhance the abilities of Myon.

Outside the lab, Marcus engages in sports and meets his friends.

Jörg Meier

Jörg Meier

Jörg is in the last stage of his M.Sc. programme in computer science. 2011, after his bachelor degree in computer science at the University of Paderborn, he started a subsequent master study at the Freie Universität Berlin. Minor fields of study are mechanical engineering and biology. Jörg joined the team NRL in summer 2014.

His main work consists of the development and implementation of a interactive behavior control for the humanoid robot Myon. Furthermore, Jörg focuses on a implementation scheme for Myon to carry out it's own decisions.

During spare time, Jörg participates in music projects, does team sports or implements audio effects.

Benjamin Panreck

Benjamin Panreck

Benjamin studied mechatronics at the Beuth University of Applied Sciences Berlin. At the beginning of the master's program he started his activity at the Neurorobotics Research Laboratory.

He supports the team in the areas of control engineering, micro-computer technology and in the development of digital systems. Furthermore Benjamin resumes the management of the project work.

Away from the university, Benjamin likes to climb or deals with 3D printing.

Torsten Siedel

Torsten Siedel

Torsten is a trained industrial mechanics and IT systems engineer. He studied mechanical engineering at the Rheinische Fachhochschule in Cologne and is working towards a doctorate since 2009 at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

His work includes the development of bio-mechanical drive systems and lightweight scaffolding, and the process development and optimization of various manufacturing techniques. He is the designer of the humanoid robot Myon and of several other robotic platforms.

Torsten is not only interested in robotics but also in interior design and architecture since a long time. Also, he is excited by sporting challenges. Torsten regularly organizes tours for friends and colleagues.

Christian Thiele

Christian Thiele

Christian studied computer science, physics and economics since 2003 at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Since January 2006 he works with robots at the Neurorobotics Research Laboratory.

He develops software for large parts of the humanoid robots of the team: the firmware for the microprocessors in the robots as well as graphical applications for PCs. He also works with FPGAs.

Christian enjoys programming in Assembler, C, C# and PHP. In private, Christian meets with friends and often goes out to the movies. He is active in the free encyclopaedia Wikipedia.

Mario Weidner

Mario Weidner

After training as an industrial mechanic Mario took over the mechanical workshop of the laboratory in 2010.

Among other things, he is responsible for the maintenance of the mechanical humanoid robot Myon. In addition, he designs and builds new parts and test equipment and mills boards.

In his spare time, he likes to eat out, read texts on a variety of subjects and extend his T-shirt collection.

Alumni

Benjamin Aschenbrenner, Ferry Bachmann, Frank Beinersdorf, Christian Benckendorff, Anselm Brachmann, Tim Geppert, Philipp Hähnel, Alexander Häusler, Sebastian Höfer, Matthias Kubisch, Mario Lasseck, Thomas Lobig, Mario Lühmann, Alexander Mantei, Matthias Markl, Robin Meißner, Tanja Richter, Martin Schumann, Michael Spranger, André Stephan, Wilhelm Tschakert, Florian Wenzel, Benjamin Werner, Robert Wolff

Copyright © 2015 Neurorobotics Research Laboratory | Disclaimer

Neurorobotics Research Laboratory

Team

Das Team unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Manfred Hild besteht aus zehn festen Mitarbeitern. Im Rahmen von Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten wird das Team von weiteren freien Mitarbeitern ergänzt. Jeden Montag findet der gemeinsame Jour fixe statt, bei dem alle anfallenden Arbeiten koordiniert werden. Speziell veranstaltete Workshops dienen der Weiterbildung und dem fokussierten inhaltlichen Austausch.

Prof. Dr. Manfred Hild

Prod. Dr. Manfred Hild

Manfred hat an der Universität Konstanz Mathematik und Psychologie studiert und an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin promoviert. Seit 2014 ist er Professor für Digitale Systeme an der Beuth Hochschule für Technik Berlin.

Sein wissenschaftliches Interesse gilt der Dynamik rekurrenter neuronaler Netze, der humanoiden Robotik mit den Schwerpunkten Sensomotorik und audio-visuelle Wahrnehmung, unüberwachten Lernverfahren zur Selbstexploration sowie verteilten vernetzten Systemen.

Als Leiter des Labors für Neurorobotik beinhaltet seine praktische Arbeit biomechanische Konstruktion, Entwicklung elektronischer Schaltungen und Erstellung von Firmware. Weitere Interessensgebiete sind Computermusik, digitale Signalverarbeitung sowie FPGA-Anwendungen.

Stefan Bethge

Stefan Bethge

Stefan hat Informatik und Musikwissenschaft an der Humboldt-Universität studiert und ist seit Ende 2010 im Team.

Seine Arbeit unterstützt die Erforschung von reaktiven Regelungen und daraus entstehender dynamischer Bewegung. Die Anwendung von biologischen Prinzipien interessiert ihn dabei besonders.

Privat ist Stefan mit seiner Band unterwegs, geht auf Konzerte oder fährt gern Fahrrad.

Peter Hirschfeld

Peter Hirschfeld

Peter studiert Informatik an der Freien Universität Berlin und befindet sich derzeit in der Endphase des Masterstudiengangs. Er ist gelernter Assistent für Automatisierungs- und Computertechnik und hat seinen Bachelor in Informatik an der Fachhochschule Brandenburg absolviert.

Seine Aufgaben im Team sind das Layouten und Bestücken von Platinen und die elektronische Wartung von Myon. Desweiteren hilft er Myon dabei, neue Bewegungsmuster zu erlernen.

Privat engagiert sich Peter ehrenamtlich als Rettungsschwimmer bei der Deutschen Lebensrettungsgesellschaft (DLRG), geht gerne wandern und hat ein großes Interesse an Survival-Techniken.

Marcus Janz

Marcus Janz

Marcus studiert seit 2008 Informatik an der Freien Universität Berlin. Nach dem Abschluss des Bachelorstudiums im Jahr 2011 hat er in seinem Masterstudium den Schwerpunkt auf den Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz gelegt.

Im Team hilft er beim Erforschen und Implementieren von Lernverfahren zur Selbstexploration und Erkennen von Situationen. Außerdem beschäftigt er sich mit computer vision und erweitert die Fähigkeiten des Myon in diesem Bereich.

Außerhalb des Labors ist Marcus oft beim Sport und trifft sich mit Freunden.

Jörg Meier

Jörg Meier

Jörg befindet sich in der Abschlussphase des Masterstudiengangs Informatik. Nachdem er 2011 seinen Bachelor in Informatik mit Nebenfach Maschinenbau an der Universität Paderborn abgeschlossen hat studiert er im Master an der Freien Universität Berlin mit dem Nebenfach Biologie. Das NRL-Team unterstützt er seit Sommer 2014.

Seine Aufgabe im Team besteht in der Entwicklung und Umsetzung einer interaktiven Verhaltenssteuerung für den humanoiden Roboter Myon. Außerdem beschäftigt er sich damit Myon eigene Entscheidungen treffen zu lassen.

Privat beschäftigt sich Jörg viel mit Musik, treibt Mannschaftssport oder programmiert Audioeffekte.

Benjamin Panreck

Benjamin Panreck

Benjamin hat Mechatronik an der Beuth Hochschule für Technik Berlin studiert und zu Beginn des Masterstudiums seine Tätigkeit im Forschungslabor Neurorobotik begonnen.

Das Team unterstützt er in den Bereichen der Regelungstechnik, Mikrocomputertechnik und bei der Entwicklung digitaler Systeme. Des Weiteren übernimmt Benjamin die Leitung der Projektarbeiten.

Abseits der Hochschule geht Benjamin gerne klettern oder beschäftigt sich mit 3D-Druck.

Torsten Siedel

Torsten Siedel

Torsten ist ausgebildeter Industriemechaniker und IT-Systemelektroniker. An der Rheinischen Fachhochschule in Köln hat er Maschinenbau studiert und promoviert seit 2009 an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Seine Arbeit umfasst die Entwicklung biomechanischer Antriebssysteme und Leichtbaugerüste sowie die Prozessentwicklung und -optimierung unterschiedlichster Herstellungstechniken. Er ist Konstrukteur des humanoiden Roboters Myon und etlicher weiterer Roboterplattformen.

Torsten interessiert sich neben der Robotik seit langem für Einrichtungsdesign und Architektur. Auch reizen ihn sportliche Herausforderungen. Torsten organisiert regelmäßig Wanderungen für Freunde und Kollegen.

Christian Thiele

Christian Thiele

Christian hat an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Informatik, Physik und Betriebswirtschaft studiert. Seit Januar 2006 arbeitet er im Forschungslabor Neurorobotik an humanoiden Robotern.

Er entwickelt große Teile der Software für die humanoiden Roboter des Teams: die Firmware für die Mikroprozessoren auf den Robotern ebenso wie graphische Anwendungen für PCs. Auch mit FPGAs arbeitet er.

Christian programmiert gerne in Assembler, C, C# und PHP. Privat trifft sich Christian gerne mit Freunden und geht häufig ins Kino. Er engagiert sich in der freien Enzyklopädie Wikipedia.

Mario Weidner

Mario Weidner

Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Industriemechaniker hat Mario 2010 die Mechanikwerkstatt des Labors übernommen.

Er ist unter anderem für die mechanische Wartung des humanoiden Roboters Myon verantwortlich. Des Weiteren konstruiert und baut er neue Teile sowie Teststände und fräst Platinen.

Privat geht er gerne essen, liest Texte zu unterschiedlichsten Sachthemen und erweitert seine T-Shirt-Sammlung.

Alumni

Benjamin Aschenbrenner, Ferry Bachmann, Frank Beinersdorf, Christian Benckendorff, Anselm Brachmann, Tim Geppert, Philipp Hähnel, Alexander Häusler, Sebastian Höfer, Matthias Kubisch, Mario Lasseck, Thomas Lobig, Mario Lühmann, Alexander Mantei, Matthias Markl, Robin Meißner, Tanja Richter, Martin Schumann, Michael Spranger, André Stephan, Wilhelm Tschakert, Florian Wenzel, Benjamin Werner, Robert Wolff

Copyright © 2015 Neurorobotics Research Laboratory | Disclaimer